Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Will there be FE-C resistance support?
Hi, I just got a Kickr Snap and wanted to know if there is any hope for FE-C resistance control in VZFit explorer at some point?

I suppose FE-C is what Zwift use to control resistance and that my Kickr Snap does not support FTMS since I don't get any resistance in VZFit.

I am new to all this, and it's been hard to find consistent information, Rainmaker and Sufferfest says the Snap does support FTMS, while Wahoo support told me it does not, and that they don't know if it will be supported. I read that the Kickr Core supports FTMS now, so there might be hope for the Snap too at some point?

I really like the Snap because of the 12% max incline, but I am considering exchanging it if there is no hope for resistance control in VZFit at any point, either with a Snap firmware upgrade or if VZFit will support FE-C in the future.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this, is the only option to get resistance in VZFit to exchange the Snap?
Sorry, I am now more confused. As I understand, fe-c is an ant+ extension protocol, but I never used ant to connect to zwift to get resistance control (I don't have an ant dongle). Does that mean my kickr snap has ftms since I get resistance in zwift? Or does zwift use their own Bluetooth code to connect to the snap?
Check out the Smart Bike thread here https://forums.vzfit.com/showthread.php?...25#pid3125

I just posted a tool to help folks determine if their devices support FTMS resistance control. It's the same tool we've used forever to diagnose connection problems, but for this level of reporting you'll need familiarity with "adb" to inspect its logs.

We haven't been planning to add ANT+ FE-C support, as the trend in devices is toward Bluetooth and FTMS for control. But we can revisit that after our Oculus Store release.